Consumers,
Take Action

Remedial steps you can take if you
have been defrauded






Overview

If your muffler still rattles after it was fixed or your $250
catalog order still hasn't arrived after two months, you can try
several remedies before filing a lawsuit as your last action.

A carefully worded complaint, cancellation of a sales contract
or pursuit of monetary losses of up to $5,000 in small claims
court are all options for you before turning to a lawyer.
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Register a complaint

Contact the offending party and try to settle your dispute first
before contacting outside help.

Complaints will be more effective if you send copies of
receipts and other documents explaining your case.

If you are contacting the store or business by mail, send your
complaint letter by registered mail and keep a copy for your
records. If you are making your complaint in person, try to
remain calm, but be firm and make sure you understand the
other party.
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Cancel your contract

Missouri law provides a right of cancellation for certain types
of transactions:

If you sign a home-solicited credit sales contract, you may
cancel the sale if you send a written notice to the company
within three business days after the date of transaction. Keep

a copy.

Once the business receives your notice, it has 10 days to
refund any goods or money that has been received, return any
signed documents and inform you the business will pick up or
let you keep items that were left behind.

There are exceptions for emergency home repairs, sales and
services, or cases in which circumstances do not allow the
goods to be returned in as good condition as they were in
when the buyer received them.

You also may cancel within three days any contract in which
your house was put up as collateral or security for the contract.

Contracts for vacation timeshares can be canceled within
five days.

FILE A COMPLAINT
To file a complaint with the Attorney General’s Office,

go online or call the Consumer Protection Hotline:
Www.ago.mo.gov or 800-392-8222
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Contact Better Business Bureau,
AG’s Office

Contact your local Better Business Bureau and the Attorney
General’s Office and file a formal complaint if youre not
satisfied with a business.

If an individual or a business is violating the law, then action
will be quicker if you contact both offices simultaneously.

If the offending party is located outside Missouri, then also
contact that state’s attorney general.

The Better Business Bureau, has offices in St. Louis
(314-645-3300), Kansas City (816-421-7800) and Springfield
(417-862-4222). It offers a free consumer arbitration service to
settle disputes between businesses and consumers.

Both parties must agree to the process and any decision of
the arbitrator is legally binding. An attorney is not needed.
The arbitration process can be handled by mail, phone or in
the office.
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Contact your credit card company

If you used a credit card to
pay for a disputed service
or product, you may be
CREDIT CARDS able to recover your money
Credit card companies
may offer you some
protection in
disputes involving
purchases.

from your credit card
company.

Write your credit card
company a letter recording
details of the matter.
However, there is a
deadline. You must mail the letter within 60 days after you
receive the disputed bill.
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Contact an agency to help resolve com

Missouri consumers should take aggressive action to halt misleading bu

To help consumers take action, the Attorney General’s Office has compi
agencies and organizations familiar with consumer complaints and que:

If you have encountered problems with an individual or business but ar

resolve differences, remember to:

«  Contact the company in writing regarding your problem. Always k
. Never send original documents, such as bills, to a company. Keep t
«  Consider contacting one of the following agencies if you are unable

Agency Services Off

STATE AGENCIES

Attorney General’s Office -
No Call List

Reduce unwanted telemarketing call
registering for free on the No Call lis

Attorney General’s Office -
Check a Charity

Donors can find out what percentage
the charitable purpose and what per
administrative costs.

Division of Finance

Handles complaints about debt colle
mortgage bankers, credit bureaus, pz
and other lenders.

Department of Insurance

Handles complaints regarding insurz
verify credentials of insurance sales 1

Public Service Commission

Investigates complaints against publsi
service problems, overcharges and d«
housing (such as mobile homes) deft
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plaints

siness practices.

led a list of
tions.

> unable to

To file a complaint with the Attorney General’s
Office or to see if complaints have been made
against a company, go online or call the

FILE A COMPLAINT

Consumer Protection Hotline:
Www.ago.mo.gov or 800-392-8222

eep a copy of your letter for your files.
he originals for your files and send copies.

> to resolve a problem:

ered Web/Phone

s to your home by
2

www.ago.mo.gov/divisions/consumer/
no-call
866-BUZZOFF (866-289-9633)

> of their gifts go to
-entage is used for

www.ago.mo.gov/divisions/consumer/

check-a-charity/

ction and harassment,
yday and title loan stores

www.finance.mo.gov/consumers
573-751-3242

nce companies and will
epresentatives.

www.insurance.mo.gov
800-726-7390

c utilities including
>posits, and manufactured
cts.

WWW.PSC.IO0.gov
800-392-4211
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Oftice of Chief Disciplinary
Counsel (For Attorneys)

Processes complaints against attorne

Secretary of State

Securities/investments: 800-721-799
Toll-free hot line handles complaints
stockbrokers, broker-dealers and inv

Corporations: 573-751-4153
Provides information on registration
fictitious names, benevolent organiz:
companies.

FEDERAL AGENCIES

Federal Information Center

Provides phone numbers and infor
agencies and programs.

Aviation Consumer Protection
Division

Handles airline service complaints. C
to first contact the airline to try to re

Federal Communications
Commission (FCC)

Handles complaints and inquiries re;
systems, radio or television.

Federal Trade Commission
(FTC)

Federal consumer protection agency
consumer.gov, a one-stop link to a b
information on consumer issues.)

Labor Department -
Wage and Hour Division

Handles wage disputes.

National Highway Traffic
Safety Administration

Provides information about safety-re
problems.
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ys in Missouri.

www.mochiefcounsel.org
573-635-7400

6
‘and inquiries concerning
estments.

s of corporations,
itions and limited liability

WWW.S0S.mO.gov

ation about federal

www.info.gov
800-333-4636

Jonsumers are encouraged
solve a problem.

www.dot.gov/airconsumer
202-366-2220

rarding telephone

www.fcc.gov
888-225-5322

(You also can go to www.
oad range of federal

www.ftc.gov
(Toll-free) 877-382-4357
(TTY) 866-653-4261

www.dol.gov

Toll-free: 866-487-9243

KC district: 913-551-5721

St. Louis district: 314-539-2706

lated automotive

www.safercar.gov
(Toll-free) 888-327-4236
(TTY) 800-424-9153
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U.S. Consumer Product Safety
Commission

Receives reports regarding hazardou
related injuries, and provides produc

U.S. Postal Inspection Service

Handles inquiries involving problem
or transacting business by mail, or if
been a victim of a mail fraud or misr

PRIVATE AGENCIES

AARP

Lobbies for and promotes programs
seniors.

BBB Wise Giving Alliance

Provides information on national no

Better Business Bureaus

Handles consumer complaints throu
free mediation services for disputes |
businesses.

Direct Marketing Association

Lets you delete your name from mas

Free Credit Report

Get a free credit report three times a
transactions are only yours. The law
per year from each of the three credi
Experian and Equifax.

Note: This is the only Web site provi
Watch for misleading sites requiring
product.
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s products or product- WWW.CPSC.gov
t-recall information. (Toll-free) 800-638-2772
(T'TY) 800-638-8270

s ordering merchandise | http://postalinspectors.uspis.gov
you suspect you have 877-876-2455
epresentation scheme.

and issues of interest to WWW.aarp.org
888-687-2277

nprofit organizations. www.give.org
703-276-0100

ghout Missouri. Offers Kansas City

yetween customers and www.kansascity.bbb.org
816-421-7800

Springfield
www.southwestmissouri.bbb.org
417-862-4222

St. Louis
www.stlouis.bbb.org
314-645-3300

1y direct mail lists. www.dmachoice.org

year to make sure the www.annualcreditreport.com
allows you one free report | 877-322-8228
t bureaus: Trans Union,

ling a free credit report.
you to buy another
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Missouri Lawyer Referral Provides lawyer referrals in your are:
Service

National Consumer League’s Provides general information and stz
Fraud Center online complaint forms.
Pre-Approved Credit Card Credit bureaus allow you to “opt out’
Offers offers of credit and insurance sent to

_m Consumers, Take Action



1. There is a fee. www.mobar.org

St. Louis: 314-621-6681
Greene County: 417-831-2783
Statewide: 573-636-3635

tistics on scams and www.fraud.org

’ of having pre-approved | www.optoutprescreen.com
you. 888-567-8688
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File a lawsuit in small claims court

Missouri’s small claims court can help consumers with such
problems as a landlord who won't return a deposit or a
repairman who said he fixed a pipe that still leaks.

Under state law, consumers who have a claim for up to $5,000
can, without hiring a lawyer, file a lawsuit in small claims
court to recoup their money.

Before you file suit in small claims court, make sure there is no
other way of settling your dispute. You may save yourself a lot
of time and effort.

HOW SMALL CLAIMS LAWSUITS ARE FILED

o The plaintiff (the consumer who files the lawsuit) submits
the legal documents in the associate circuit court of the
county in which he lives. The associate circuit court
is housed in the county courthouse. If the person or
business you are suing is located in another county or if
the product or service was bought in another county, you
should file the lawsuit in that county.

o Forms for small claims court are available at
Www.courts.mo.gov.

. Once the lawsuit is filed, a hearing date is scheduled.
Hearings may be held in the evening or on Saturday.

o There are modest filing fees in small claims court. You
also must pay the cost of mailing the summons by
certified mail or delivering it by the sheriff.

o Consumers can file only twelve lawsuits a year in small
claims court.
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HOW TO PREPARE YOUR SMALL CLAIMS LAWSUIT

Some points to remember:

1. Organize relevant materials such as bills, receipts
and letters so you can make a complete and orderly
presentation at the hearing.

2. Prepare a full but brief statement of the facts in your case.

3. Determine what witnesses, if any, you want to have
testify. Reluctant witnesses may be subpoenaed if they are
important.

4. Check with the court before the hearing to find out if the
defendant has been served with the summons. If service
has not been made, the clerk can tell you your options.
You may seek a continuance — or postponement — of
the court date for this or a similar good reason.

5. Be on time for the hearing. Failure to do so may result in
dismissal of your lawsuit.

WHAT HAPPENS IN COURT

When the court date arrives, the consumer who filed the
lawsuit tells his side of the story to the judge. The consumer
can call witnesses or use any additional information to explain
his case.

The defendant (the party being sued) also explains his side of
the story to the judge. Do not be intimidated if the defendant
is represented by an attorney. The judge has a responsibility to
ensure the proceedings remain informal so your lack of legal
knowledge will not hinder you.
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The judge then questions all parties associated with the case
before making a final decision.

If the judge rules in favor of the consumer who filed the
lawsuit, the losing party in the case must pay that consumer.

Court officials, however, do not collect money associated
with the judge’s ruling.

Consumers who have trouble recouping money awarded in
small claims court have additional legal remedies under the
law. Associate circuit court officials can explain those options.

The losing party in small claims court also can file an
application for a new trial, which will be heard in circuit court.
(You usually will need a lawyer’s help.) Those applications
must be filed in small claims court within 10 days after the
judge’s order or the losing party in the case is liable for costs
associated with the judgment.

4 NEED A LAWYER?

Contact the Missouri Bar Lawyer Referral Service
at one of these phone numbers:
St. Louis: 314-621-6681
Greene County: 417-831-2783
Statewide: 573-636-3635

There is a fee.
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Seek legal action in other courts

When other remedies fail and if small claims court is not
available to you because the amount in controversy is more
than $5,000, you may want to pursue your case in court. You
may wish to contact a lawyer to help you.

Missourians who think they have been defrauded or
victimized by unfair practices can file a lawsuit under
consumer protection laws seeking actual damages.

In addition to contract and fraud claims, Missourians are
offered legal recourse under the Merchandising Practices
Act. This law protects Missourians against unfair, misleading
and deceptive practices in connection with the sale or
advertisement of any merchandise or the solicitation of any
funds for any charitable purposes in Missouri.

The law, found in Chapter 407 of the Missouri Revised
Statutes, allows any person who buys or leases goods or
services primarily for personal, family or household use and
suffers an ascertainable loss of money or personal property as
a result of unfair or deceptive trade practices to bring a private
civil action.

The lawsuit may be filed in either the circuit court of the
county in which the seller or lessor resides or in which the
transaction took place to recover actual damages. The court
may at its discretion award punitive damages (damages
awarded in excess of normal compensation to the plaintiff to
punish a defendant for a serious wrong) and may award to the
prevailing party attorney’s fees, based on the amount of time
reasonably spent.
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OFFICE OF ATTORNEY GENERAL
CHRIS KOSTER

PO Box 899

Jefferson City, MO 65102

573-751-3321
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