PROSECUTING ATTORNEY: Under the provisions of Sec. 56.310 RSMo
CRIMINAL COSTS: 1949, the prosecuting attorney shall be al-
CRIMINAL LAW: lowed a fee of $12.50 for the conviction of a
defendant charged with armed robbery under the
general criminal law, regardless of whether
sald defendant is committed to the State Board
gl L{*‘[) of Training Schools, or punishment is assessed
{ at confinement in the State Penitentiary.

July 3, 1956

Honorable William T, Bellamy, Jr.
Prosecuting Attorney

Saline County

Marshall, Missouri

Dear Mr, Bellamy:

Reference is made to your request for an official opinion
of this office, which request reads as follows:

"Differences have arisen between Mr. 0. L, Peters,
Supervisor of Criminal Costs of the Department of
Revenue, Mizs Edna Giger, our Circuit Clerk, and
myself over the fee allowable to the Prosecuting
Attorney under the provisions of Section 56,310

in a case where the defendant was charged with
Armed Robbery and pled guilty to that charge and
was sentenced to the Missouri State Board of Train-
ing Schools rather than to the penitentiary.

"In the particular case, the defendant was a young
lady eighteen years old and under the provisions of
Section 219,160, in the Court's discretion, was sen-
tenced to the Training School at Chillicothe rather
than to the penitentiary because it was the opinion of
both the sentencing Jjudge and prosecuting attorney that
there was a possibility of rehabilitation,

"In any event, it is my feeling, as well as that of
Miss Giger, that a conviction for Armed Robbery car-
ries with it a fee of $12.50 automatically regardless
of the institution to which the defendant is sentenced.
It was Mr,. Peters' belief that there was a previous At-
torney General's opinion holding that the state had
authority to pay a prosecuting attorney fee only on a
penitentiary sentence, It seems to me that Section
56,310 makes a special exception in the case of robbery
to the usual rule,

"I would appreciate an opinion of clarification on this
matter at your earliest convenience.”



Honorable William T, Bellamy, Jr.

Pursuant to our inquiry, you have supplied us with the additional
information that the defendant in the case referred to was charged and
egg:iom under the general criminal law and not under the juvenile
code.,

Section 56.310 RSMo 1949, provides in part as follows:

"Prosecut attorneys shall be allowed fees as
follows, 88 in cases where it is otherwise
directed by law: * * #* for the conviection of

every defendant in any case where the punishment
assessed shall be by confinement in the penitentiary,
except in cases of rape, arson, burglary, robbery,
forgery or counterfeiting, ten dollars; for the con-
viction of every defendant of homicide, other than
capital, or for offenses excepted in the last clause,
twelve dollars and fifty cents;® * #

Section 219,160 RSMo 1949, provides that upon conviction, a girl
over the age of twelve years and under the age of twenty-one years may
be committed to the state board of training schools. Said section
reads as follows:

"Any boy over the age of twelve years and under

the age of seventeen years and any girl over the
age of twelve z:.n and under the age of twenty-one
years who has n convicted of a crime or who is
found by the Juvenile or c¢ircuilt court to be in need
of training school education and discipline may be
committed to the state board of training schools,
Except where a child who is convicted of a crime and
sentenced for a period of time which will not expire
until after his twenty-first birthday, all commit-
ments to the board shall be made for an indeterminate
period of time."

In the case recited, the defendant, a young lady eighteen years
of age, plead gullty to a charge of armed robbery and was thereupon com-
mitted to the state board of tru.n.l.ng schools., The authority for such
commitment is contained in Section 219,160, supra.

We note that Section 56,310 RSMo 1949, provides that the prosecut-
ing attorney shall be allowed & fee of ten dollars for the W of
every defendant in any case "where the punishment assessed 8 cone
finement in the penitentiary”, except in cases of rape, arson, burglary,
robbery, forgery or counterfeiting. The following clause of such sec-
tion provides that the prosecuting attorney shall be allowed a fee of
twelve dollars and fifty cents "for the conviection of every defendant
of homicide, other than capital, or for the offenses excepted in the



Honorable William T. Bellamy, JR,

last clause” (rape, arson, , robbe forgery or counterfeiting).
No requirement is herein com’ m% "mn"!“! "eonvietion” the defend-
ant's punishment must be assessed at confinement in the penitentiary.
The word "conviction”’, as used in Section 56,310, has been held to mean
a Judgment in favor of the state in a criminal case on the merits. In
re Murphy, 22 Mo. App. 476. Certainly the case which you have outlined
would fall within this definition.

CONCLUSION

Therefore, it is the opinion of this office that, under the pro-
visions of Section 56,310 RSMo 1949, the prosecuting attorney shall be
allowed a fee of twelve dollars and fifty cents for the conviction of
a defendant charged with armed robbery under the general criminal law,
regardless of whether saild defendant is committed to the state board
of ¢ - schools, or punishment ls assessed at confinement in the

state penitentiary.

The £ oing opinion, which I hereby approve, was prepared by
my assistant, Donal D, Guffey.

Very truly yours,

John M, Dalton
Attorney General



